Commissions involved

Six commissions of the International Geographical Union are participating in the organization of this thematic conference to be held in Mexico.
The objective is to lay the foundations for a collaboration that will generate new synergies of work and exchange of knowledge.

Learn more about each of the participating commissions by accessing their websites

C20.15: Commission on Geography of Governance  

Chair: Carlos Nunes Silva

Institute of Geography and Spatial Planning, University of Lisbon, Cidade Universitária, Rua Branca Edmée Marques, 1600-276 Lisbon, Portugal


C20.17: Commission on Geography of Tourism, Leisure, and Global Change

Chair: Julie Wilson

Faculty of Economics and Business, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain


C20.18: Commission on GeoHeritage

Chair: Dongying Wei

College of Geography, Beijing Normal University, Beijing 100875, China

C20.30: Commission on Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Chair: Juan Manuel Delgado

National University of San Marcos, Faculty of Social Sciences, José Carlos Mariátegui Pavilion, University City – Lima, Perú



C20.37: Commission on Population Geography

Chair: Darren Smith

School Director of Academic Staffing, Geography and Environment, Loughborough University London, U2 19, Brockington UKD.P.


C20.42 Urban Commission: Re-Thinking cities and the urban: from the global to the local

Chair: Maria Jose Piñeira-Mantiñán

University of Santiago de Compostela, Pza. Universidade 1. Santiago de Compostela, Spain


Blog de